The Cato Corporation is accelerating the restructuring of its store portfolio, adding approximately 70 underperforming locations to its closure plans for the second half of fiscal 2026 and bringing anticipated shutdowns for the year to roughly 120 stores. The Charlotte, North Carolina-based specialty apparel retailer disclosed the revised plan on September 18, saying the additional locations are expected to close during the third and fourth quarters.

The new target represents a significant expansion of Cato’s previously announced rationalization program. In its second-quarter regulatory filing, the company said it expected to close approximately 50 stores during fiscal 2026 while opening as many as 10. The latest announcement effectively adds about 70 locations to that plan, raising total anticipated closures to approximately 120. Earlier in the year, Cato had expected an even more modest contraction, with a March update calling for as many as 40 underperforming locations to close as leases expired.

The speed of that revision highlights the deterioration in management’s expectations for weaker stores. Rather than extending leases and allowing marginal locations additional time to recover, the company is moving to eliminate more of them as lease decisions arise. Chief Executive Officer John Cato said the retailer annually reviews approximately one-third of its locations to determine whether to exercise lease options or negotiate extensions, using factors including sales trends and current and projected profitability.

Historically, some stores producing borderline results were renewed for another year in hopes that sales and profitability would strengthen. Management now sees less reason to make those extensions. Cato cited the current economic environment and what it described as continuing negative pressure on customers’ discretionary income, saying it does not expect marginal locations to improve appreciably enough to warrant continued operation.

That assessment is consistent with the retailer’s recent operating results. Cato reported second-quarter retail sales of $163.9 million for the period ended August 1, down 6% from $174.7 million a year earlier. Comparable-store sales fell 3.7%, while closures undertaken over the preceding 12 months also reduced the company’s revenue base. For the first six months of fiscal 2026, retail sales declined 2.9% to $333.3 million from $343.1 million.

Profitability weakened particularly sharply during the second quarter. Net income was approximately $1.1 million, or $0.06 per diluted share, compared with about $6.8 million, or $0.35 per diluted share, in the year-earlier quarter. Gross-margin dollars declined 15% to $53.7 million, reflecting weaker merchandise economics and the difficulty of absorbing store occupancy expenses across a lower sales base.

The economics of occupancy help explain the appeal of eliminating stores that management believes have limited prospects for a turnaround. Rent, real estate taxes, insurance, common-area maintenance, utilities and store maintenance are among the occupancy expenses included in Cato’s cost structure. When store sales decline, many of those costs do not fall at the same pace, causing fixed expenses to consume a greater percentage of revenue.

Cato’s closure strategy is designed in part to remove that drag. The company said it expects the additional 70 closures to improve operating results in fiscal 2027 and beyond, although it did not provide a forecast for the amount of savings or the expected contribution to earnings. The company also did not disclose individual locations in the September 18 announcement.

The immediate restructuring expense is comparatively modest. Cato estimates that it will incur between $1.0 million and $1.3 million to exit the additional locations through the end of 2026. Those costs will primarily involve disposing of exterior signage and fixtures and returning store technology systems to corporate operations.

Importantly, Cato said all the affected locations are reaching the end of their lease terms. As a result, it does not expect to continue paying rent for those stores beyond 2026. That distinguishes the program from retail restructurings in which companies terminate leases before expiration and incur substantial lease-exit liabilities or negotiate costly settlements with landlords.

A Cato fashion retail storefront representing the company’s expanded plan to close approximately 120 stores during fiscal 2026.

The timing also gives Cato a relatively direct mechanism for adjusting its footprint. Instead of committing fresh capital or additional rent to stores management considers structurally weak, the company can allow leases to expire and redirect resources toward locations that meet its profitability thresholds. The trade-off is a smaller sales base, particularly because Cato remains dependent on brick-and-mortar operations for the overwhelming majority of its business.

As of August 1, Cato operated 1,057 stores in 31 states, compared with 1,101 stores a year earlier. It had opened two stores and closed 14 during the first six months of fiscal 2026. The approximately 120 closures now expected for the full fiscal year would be equivalent to roughly 11% of the store count reported at the end of the second quarter, although the eventual year-end footprint will also depend on new openings and the exact number and timing of completed closures.

The contraction is particularly consequential because digital commerce remains a relatively small channel for the company. Cato said e-commerce accounted for less than 5% of total sales during the six months ended August 1. That means store closures remove physical selling capacity in a business where online revenue is not yet large enough to make the store network secondary.

For management, the objective is therefore not simply to reduce store count. The financial logic depends on closing locations whose contribution is insufficient after occupancy, payroll and other operating expenses, while retaining enough productive stores to serve customers and protect the broader revenue base. A closure program can improve margins if the sales lost from shuttered stores are outweighed by eliminated operating costs or if some customer spending migrates to nearby locations or online. Cato has not disclosed assumptions regarding sales transfer from the stores being closed.

The September action follows several years of ongoing portfolio pruning. Cato closed 48 stores during fiscal 2025, ending that year with 1,069 locations in 31 states, down from 1,117 a year earlier. At the start of fiscal 2026, the company expected to open up to 10 stores and close up to 40 underperforming locations. The closure estimate subsequently increased to approximately 50 by the second-quarter report before the September revision raised it to approximately 120.

The progression from 40 to 50 and now roughly 120 planned closures indicates that the company’s threshold for renewing marginal locations has changed materially during the year. Management’s September statement directly linked the decision to its expectations for customer spending, rather than presenting the closures solely as routine lease management.

Cato serves a value-oriented consumer, making household purchasing power particularly relevant to its sales outlook. When spending capacity becomes constrained by necessities and other nondiscretionary expenses, apparel purchases can be postponed, traded down or reduced. Cato said in its second-quarter update that persistent inflation, higher fuel prices and elevated interest rates were among the pressures affecting discretionary income, and management expected those conditions to make the second half of 2026 challenging.

The retailer has also faced margin pressure beyond the headline sales decline. Its second-quarter gross-margin dollars fell to $53.7 million from $63.2 million a year earlier. Selling, general and administrative expense declined in absolute terms, helped by lower payroll and equipment expenses, but represented 33.0% of retail sales versus 32.8% in the comparable quarter as weaker revenue limited operating leverage.

For the first six months, the picture was somewhat more stable. Cato generated net income of approximately $10.5 million, compared with $10.1 million in the prior-year period, even as retail sales declined. The company also reported $35.1 million in cash and cash equivalents and $58.7 million in short-term investments as of August 1. Those figures suggest that the closure announcement is primarily an operating portfolio decision rather than a restructuring driven by a disclosed near-term liquidity shortage.

A Cato fashion retail storefront representing the company’s expanded plan to close approximately 120 stores during fiscal 2026.

Cato’s store review process also allows it to make closure decisions gradually as leases mature rather than through a single large-scale liquidation event. The September announcement covers approximately 70 additional stores scheduled for closure during the third and fourth quarters. The company has not characterized the move as a bankruptcy process, nor has it announced a companywide shutdown. Instead, the strategy focuses on locations that management considers underperforming and whose leases can be allowed to expire.

The retailer continues to operate three concepts: Cato, Versona and It’s Fashion. Its core Cato chain sells value-priced women’s fashion and accessories, while Versona focuses on apparel and accessories including jewelry, handbags and footwear. It’s Fashion offers trend-oriented merchandise for families. The company did not provide a breakdown showing how the approximately 70 newly identified closures are distributed among those banners.

That missing geographic and brand-level detail will be relevant for evaluating the operational consequences of the program. Closing stores in markets with significant overlap could concentrate revenue in nearby surviving locations and improve local economics. Closing isolated locations, by contrast, could result in a greater proportion of sales leaving the company altogether. No such transfer assumptions were disclosed in the September filing.

The company’s September 18 Form 8-K formally updated anticipated store closings and related closing-cost expectations for the fiscal year ending January 30, 2027. The regulatory filing incorporated the closure announcement as an exhibit, giving investors a new benchmark for the scale of Cato’s restructuring during the remainder of the fiscal year.

The financial impact will consequently unfold across two periods. Fiscal 2026 will absorb the $1.0 million to $1.3 million of incremental exit expenses and the revenue reduction associated with stores closing during the third and fourth quarters. Management expects fiscal 2027 and later periods to benefit from removing the operating costs of locations it does not believe can recover sufficiently.

Whether that produces a meaningful improvement in companywide profitability will depend on the performance of the remaining fleet, merchandise margins and consumer demand. The closure program reduces exposure to stores already identified as underperforming, but it does not by itself eliminate the broader pressures visible in Cato’s second-quarter comparable sales and gross margin.

For investors, the key distinction in the September announcement is therefore the magnitude of the change rather than the concept of store optimization itself. Cato has been closing underperforming locations for years, but the move from an expectation of roughly 50 fiscal-year closures in August to about 120 now signals a much more aggressive response to current conditions. The company is choosing to accept a materially smaller physical footprint rather than extend leases on stores whose economics management no longer expects to improve.

The next test will be whether the remaining store base can generate enough comparable-sales improvement and margin recovery to offset the revenue removed by closures. Cato has said the additional shutdowns should benefit operating results beginning in fiscal 2027. With approximately 70 more stores now scheduled to disappear in the second half of the year, the retailer is making that portfolio reset one of its most consequential operating actions of 2026.